The lost sail (2022)

The Lost Sail is dealing around the incompetence to show something based on a conversation I had with Zao Wang, a director born in China. Because of the censorship in China he was not able to tell the story he wanted with a particular film. The Lost Sail tells what should have been seen while showing a black image. This video is intended for a cinemascreen.

This video is part of a series of videos I made in which I explore the incompetences I experience to express myself after breaking up a relationship. The first video deals with the incompetence to show. In the second I search for a way to represent the inability to feel. The third video is about the incompetence to speak, find words. The videos and the mediums that were chosen in it each contribute to the process of incompetence. A cinema screen, an theremin, a drawing session, …  As the immaterial incompetences solidifies, it does so in the form of a medium. This way I look for ways where the medium can contribute to the process of research, invisibility and gelation. Though this process of  materialisations, the media itself is also up for investigation and transformation. 

*Screenings: Leuven kortfilmfestival, Shortfilm festival Oberhausen, Kassel docfest. Distributed by ARGOS

Gepubliceerd door Justine Cappelle

Creative non-fiction I am Justine Cappelle. I work with various mediums, but primarily with documentary film. I work ecologically with simple materials or found materials. With them, I construct a world that runs parallel to our everyday reality. I look for situations where life seems almost fictional or science fiction, but is actually pure reality that we cannot see due to our limited senses or our idea of what reality is. I aim to depict those other realities and dimensions, connect us to them, and thereby offer a different perspective on important societal themes. Themes I have worked on include, for example, waste in the sea or the invisibility of technology in the air. My movies screened on festivals as IDFA, Kassel docfest, Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, …